The FPAI played a charity match in Aizawl against a Mizoram FA XI to generate funds for the flood victims of the state. The teams consisted of some of the biggest names in Indian football who cancelled their prior commitments for the good cause.

The Indian Football Awards which is generally a gala affair was also given out during the match to curb the costs and donate the same to the Chief Ministers Relief Fund and help the needy .

Other than the normal 5 categories of the award which is given out every year it was decided by the board to felicitate a few stalwarts of Indian Football for their services to the game.

The awards handed over during the half time were :

  • Young Player of the Year : Udanta Singh
  • Foreign Player of the Year : Alfred Jaryan
  • Coach of the Year : Khalid Jamil
  • Fans’ Player of the Year : C.K. Vineeth
  • Indian Player of the Year : Anas Edathodika

Special Awards :

Shylo Malsawmtluanga : ( For his contribution towards Indian Football)

Deepak Mandal : ( For his contribution towards Indian Football)

Sandip Nandy : ( For his contribution towards Indian Football)

Ranjan Chowdhury : ( For his contribution towards Indian Football)

While Vinneth and Alfred played in the match and collected the awards, Udanta, Khalid Jamil and Anas Edathodika couldn’t make it. We wish to congratulate all the five award winners for a fantastic season we hope that they continue their form for the upcoming ISL.

All the four special award winners were present for the match , while Deepak Mandal captained the FPAI XI , Shylo Mama was leading the Mizoram FA XI. Sandip Nandy had a great match under the bar while Mr.Ranjan Choudhury was one of the ten thousand spectators who watched the match keenly .

For the record the match ended in a 2-2 stalemate with the legendary Bhaiching Bhutia scoring for the FPAI XI and a cheque of INR 200,000 handed over to the Chief Minister.