The Indian Football Awards 2011 in collaboration with McDowells No. 1 Celebration Sports Gear and co-sponsored by Trans Stadia was held on the 26th of September in ITC Sonar, Kolkata. It was a night which brings back many wonderful memories. It was an evening that brought football and glamour together. This year the awards were even bigger and better. This was the third consecutive year that the Football Players Association with the football players had organized the Indian Football Awards 2011.

The award ceremony was inaugurated by the Governor M.K. Narayanan’s speech. Coming to the main element of the awards ceremony, the award winners were chosen by the counting of votes casted by the players, coaches and the fans and because of these votes MehtabHussain won two awards- Best Indian player and fans player of the year, Beto won- Best Foreign player, Jeje won- Best young player, Subrata Pal won- fans player of the Asian Cup and KarimBencherifa won- Best coach.

When Karim had won the title for Best Coach AIFF President SubrataDutta commented, “Compared to all the other coaches,KarimBencherifa is at the top.” There were two special awards given out, one to Sunil Chettri on receiving the Arjuna Award and one to BhaichungBhutia to honour his 16 years of commitment to the Indian football team, Barreto had received the award on behalf of Bhaichung. Actresses like Raima Sen, Swastika Mukherjee, RituparnaSengupta, along with personalities like SubhashBhowmick, P.K. Banerjee, ShyamThapa, Bidesh Bose, BhaskarGongopadhyay, Sultan Ahmed, AroopBiswas, Ronodeb Bose and UstadNishat Khan all took the stage to hand out the different awards.

Amidst of everything the absence of FPAI’s president BhaichungBhutia was truly felt. He was supposed to be in Kolkata earlier to help out for the Awards but unfortunately because of the Earthquake that occurred in Sikkim he was left stranded at the Bagdogra airport as all flights were cancelled on that day because of which he sadly missed the Awards. Even though Bhaichung was not physically present in Kolkata, he made it a point to call every now and then to find out if everything was alright and giving instructions to his FPAI staff over the phone.

Since the footballers do not have any other such events throughout the year they really look forward to the Indian Football Awards night since it is not only a night of appreciating talent but also an extremely glamorous evening.

FPAI Team of the Year
Subrata Pal (Pune FC)
Naoba Singh (East Bengal)
Mahesh Gawli (Dempo SC)
UgaOkpara (East Bengal)
Syed Rahim Nabi (MohunBagan)
Steven Benedic Dias (Churchill Brothers SC)
Ryuji Suoeka (Salgaocar SC)
Mehtab Hussain (East Bengal)
Lenny Rodrigues (Churchill Brothers SC)
Odafe Onyeka Okolie (Mohun Bagan)
Roberto Mendes Silva (Churchill Brothers SC)

Indian Football Awards 2011, ITC Sonar, Kolkata

Nominees based on the top 3 in the voting by players

Jeje Lalpekhlua

Raju Gaikwad

Lenny Rodrigues

Winner: Jeje Lalpekhlua


Nominees based on the top 3 in the voting by players

Ryuji Sueoka

Roberto Mendes Silva (Beto)

Odafa Okalie

Winner: Roberto Mendes Silva (Beto)


Nominees based on the top 3 in the voting by players

Mahesh Gawli

Mehtab Hossain

Climax Lawrence

Winner :Mehtab Hossain


Nominees based on the top 3 in the voting by players

Almando Colaco

Karim Bencharifa

Trevor Morgan

Winner : Karim Bencharifa


Nominees chosen the the FPAI Committee. Winner chosen by online voting of fans

Luciano Sabrosa

Tolgay Ozebe

Ranty Martins

Mehtab Hossain

Yusif Yakubu

Winner : Mehtab Hossain


Winner : Subrata Paul

Awards 2011